25
Jun
12

CONTEST: Cush in the backcountry

By Janette at Klymit: On a recent rafting trip, I woke up next to my travel mate in our tent. I was bright eyed and bushy tailed and I gave my cohort a chipper good morning. My friend adjusted the squished up fleece he had been using under his head for a pillow, gave a moan of discomfort, rolled over and attempted to go back asleep. Feeling ready to go, I got up and went to make breakfast.

While preparing breakfast my tent mate yelled, “Oh my goodness!” My heart racing, I hurried over the the tent thinking something must be wrong. When I unzipped the door, I found my friend had taken my Klymit Cush pillow, put it  under his head and he was smiling.  I asked, “Are you okay?” His response was, “I am now. I had no idea how great it was to have a pillow while camping.” Yup, true story. Here I thought my friend was having a face off with a spider or some sort of varmint and he was just having a “face off” with my pillow. So it is true – the Klymit Cush really does make the most rugged places in the world comfortable. When we got back to civilization, his first purchase was a Klymit Cush pillow. So here is your challenge –Tell us your worst sleeping experience in the woods and we’ll pick the best story to win their very own Klymit Cush Pillow.

About the Klymit Cush Pillow -

The Klymit Cush Pillow is the first customizable camping pillow that allows you to not only adjust firmness, but also layers of thickness so it is a true “one size fits all”. Keep the pillow one layer thick and it wraps around your head perfectly inside the sleeping bag hood, or double it up in two different ways and enjoy the comfy ear pocket. Triple stack for side sleepers, and if you’re looking to lean up in your tent while reading a book, well the quad stack might just be right for you, all done with one single pillow.

MSRP $19.95
Mouth Inflated – 1 breath to inflate
Inflated Size: 29″ x 8″
Deflated Size: Palm of hand
Weight: 3 oz
Multi-Configuration
Vertical chambers allow the pillow to be folded for sutomiztion
Circular end caps allow for ear pockets

Watch the product video here.

Klymit Cush

Klymit Cush

Klyimt Cush

Klymit Cush

Klymit Cush

Klymit Cush

Klymit Cush

4 Responses to “CONTEST: Cush in the backcountry”


  1. June 26, 2012 at 11:34 PM

    My worst sleeping experience in the woods happened while camping with an ex-girlfriend who had never camped before. I had explained the issues with bears and such, but that seemed to fall by the wayside when we went to bed that night.

    Everything was great until around 3 AM when the guy camping next to us (30 yards away) began chopping wood. Or so I thought he was chopping wood. I tossed and turned for 15 minutes until I was so infuriated I walked out of the tent to chat with him. I had left my glasses in the tent, so I couldn’t see exactly where he was. Then all of a sudden the noise stopped and I figured he saw me and decided to quit. I ventured to the opposite side of our camp site to relieve myself.

    Then is started again. I quickly made my way over and before I could get the words out to yell at him, he yells “Get outta here bear! Go on now, git!” I look closely and I can see that the ‘chopping noise’ was the bear lifting up and slamming down the cooler in the back of this guys pick up truck. He starts yelling for the bear to get out, so I go in the tent and tell my ex to get her clothes and head for the car…NOW. She tells me she can’t find her flip-flops and I about bust a gasket. I told her to forget the flip flops. I open the tent up, still no glasses on and I see a dark shape 20 feet in front of me illuminated only by the lanterns in our neighbors site. I can’t tell what it is until it lets out a growl that made me shiver.

    With the car 10 feet behind us we quickly got in and locked the doors. I am sitting in a car in boxers, no blanket and a bear outside of the car. I have no glasses so I am slightly disoriented, but my adrenaline is pumping. I couldn’t sleep a wink that night. By 6 AM, the sun was up and I was gathering our stuff. Come to find out, we were very lucky as my ex decided she almost left her granola bar in the tent for safe keeping. Instead she brought it in the car. Fantastic!

    It doesn’t end there. I cooked breakfast shortly thereafter and the bear returned. 30 feet away at the crest of a hill… followed by her very small cub!! I start yelling at the bear and clanking pans while my ex walks toward it saying how cute it is. Those people have no idea how lucky we were. Needless to say, I had a lengthy conversation with her, our neighbor (whose wife had left the PB and bread on the truck) and the park ranger. We packed up and left because I felt unsafe with everyone around. Craziness.

  2. 2 Jeremy
    June 27, 2012 at 4:35 PM

    The Worst sleep I ever had in the woods happened on a normal everyday hike in the so cal mountains with my brother and some friends. We had a great hike up several thousand feet and setteled into camp for dinner where eveyone was complaining about how tired they were. After dinner we set up for sleep and I proudly showed off my new “ultralight” pillow. It was 7 ziplock sandwich bags stuffed inside a stuff sack because after all, who really needs a pillow. I was heckled but resolute in my ultralight ways and settled in for the night with my “pillow.”

    After dozing off to the sweet sounds of my snoring friends (yes I was the last one to sleep) I awoke to my bivy sack brother screaming and beating his bivy in terror. As Adreneline was coursing through my previously restful veins I heard him screaming “IT’S A DEER!” as it turns out a deer had wandered upon him and nudged him in his sleep. Fearing a bear or mountain lion he shot from his bivy like a man from a cannon. Everyone laughed and proceeded to go back to bed except me. You see my (pillow) had deflated and I could not go back to sleep. I tossed and turned but found no comfort.

    I finally wandered into slumberland and awoke as my head bumped against a rock, or a stick, or something else’s my pillow was supposed to protect me from. Suddenly, I didn’t feel so well. I knew what was coming and did what I could to release myself from the bondage of my sleeping bag. As a struggled round one of the vomit filled my mouth, in terror I was scrambling to find the zipper of the tent to release the rest of my insides to the outside. Finally, after what seemed like an eternity, I found a zipper, pulled and released round two to what I thought was the outside world. Unfortunately it wasn’t. I had opened the window fly on the front door and filled it with my vomit. Still struggling for the outside, but now having to balance a tent fly full of what I had for dinner, I finally found the door and finished my sickness. I will spare you the gory details of the clean up, but I managed to find some spare clothing to suffice as a pillow and finally went back to sleep.

    I the morning my Dr. Brother explained to me that I had suffered a bout of altitude sickness. He may be a Dr. But you and I know the truth. It was all my pillows fault. And thats the worst nights sleep I ever had in the woods.

    God Bless, Jeremy

  3. June 29, 2012 at 8:05 PM

    Just over a week ago I went on a trip down an Incan trail in Bolivia. Although it started at 15500 feet it quickly dropped, so to save weight I packed a 1 season down bag and relied on my clothing bag for a pillow. Somewhere around 12:30 am, right about when my lower back started to go numb from that stone in my shoulder I realized that my sleeping pad wasn’t going to cut it for that night or the next. Another hour on and I realized that the down bag wasn’t nearly warm enough for the 9000 feet I was sleeping at. I put on my down jacket and that helped me somewhat, but by then, with all that wriggling around to avoid the rock in my back I had compressed my “pillow” into a pancake.

    At about 5:30 am I gave up trying to sleep, opened my thermos of cold oatmeal and grumbled bitterly at the day of hiking ahead of me, my sore lower back and the crick in my neck. I sat there until my hiking buddy decided to surface (at about 8:30) and thought about how a couple more ounces would have made a world of difference.

  4. 4 Ben Schroeder
    July 3, 2012 at 3:44 PM

    I go back to when I was 13 years old. My scout troop had a mid summer camp out that was only for one night, which turned out to be the longest night of my life. We were all to meet at the church parking lot and then drive out to a trail head and walk to the site. Turns out me and my two friends were late getting to the parking lot. We waited for about an hour when a leaded drove by and realized we had been left behind. He picked us up and we headed on to the trail head. We were dropped off at about 7 pm and started hiking, being told we would find the group up the trail and to just keep going till we did.

    It’s not like you can’t see what is coming but we soon realized it wasn’t the right trail and it wasn’t the right canyon. We hiked till it was dark thinking we would hear voices and chatter at point. A nice warm fire and some good old tinfoil dinners. But instead we hear less and less, just the winds in the trees. It occurred to us we were lost and that this was the wrong way. Problem was it was 10 pm stars were coming out and we had no tents (the leaders had the tents.) We came to the conclusion we would be sleeping under the stars this night but in got worse from there. A few weeks before all this a man was hike this trail with his dog and ended up losing that dog to a mountain lion which had called the area home. We knew we were in the same spot. Not only did we pray for safety but found it a little more comforting to sleep with our pocket knives ready to fight off any hungry cougar, unless rattlesnakes decided to slither by.

    As the restless night moved forwards we kept hearing things in the bushes. We made refuge under a pin tree and hoped it would give some protection. The noises kept coming and we thought that mean old mountain lion was getting closer to us. At one poit we all swore we hurd a growl close by. The tree roots did not help the beding and we were certain the pin needles did not need to poke us so much. When one of us needed to relieve themselves then we all had to. No cougar was going to take us while we were doing our business. The flash lights had died since we wanted them on while we slept. Maybe that would keep carnavors away.

    I’m not sure we really slep at all. As soon as there was light we rolled up our sleeping bags and headed back down the trail. Took us about four hours to get to the main road when one of the leaders drove by yelling thank you’s to the Lord that he had found us not eaten by the cougar.

    We did have one positive, the main group had a hurd of cows walk through the camp site, leaving their waste for the boys to step in in the morning.


Leave a Reply

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Klymit

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

